author admin, September 18, 2017

Today we have a guest post by Gilad Maayan from the Web Analytics & BI Wiki:

In today’s fast-paced industry, companies face multiple challenges as they attempt to form a solid marketing strategy that meets business objectives. These challenges include managing marketing technology across the organization, difficulties in reaching prospects, driving customer engagement across a multitude of platforms, and tackling the complex world of web analytics.

Apparently, tackling analytics for your website is a challenge even for seasoned marketers. A recent survey by Think with Google uncovered specific challenges related to analytics technologies – namely, 61% of marketing decision makers struggled to access or integrate the data they needed in 2016.

Here are three types of web analytics challenges businesses are dealing with today and some ideas on how to solve them.

1. Too Many Metrics

In today’s industry, access to web metrics is the name of the game. But many marketing teams tend to go too far and become web analytics fanatics. Knowing which metrics to measure is important, but how do you make sure you’re measuring the right metrics? Or maybe you’re using too many metrics, without clear guidelines on what to do with the results?

According to Jay Baer of Convince & Convert, just because you can measure something, doesnt mean you should. Identify the metrics that are important to your business goals. Don’t measure all metrics obsessively, but identify the few metrics that do require closer attention, such as visitors and pageviews, conversion rates, top pages, and more.

2. Data Accuracy and Data Security Issues

Another challenge related to web analytics is that site performance data isn’t always accurate. Issues such as missing tracking code on web pages, data sampling with skewed results, ad block services that filter out valuable analytics data, and incorrect data filters are only a few examples of where you things can go wrong.

Beyond plain website analytics, mobile and web apps introduce additional complexities. Even if your mobile app analytics is spot on and you’re tracking the right metrics for your apps, this doesn’t ensure that you have full visibility of your users’ various data sessions.

Make sure that untracked or overly exposed data isn’t causing privacy or security vulnerabilities. Recent data privacy regulations are forcing US companies to put data privacy front and center, reviewing data security policies and ensuring better workflow management to prevent data breaches or even cyber attacks.

A solid network is key to protecting the systems running behind the scenes, those systems in charge of your users’ data. Define proper monitoring procedures, put security testing in place, and make sure to reach full application visibility to track performance at all levels and protect your system against application-level threats.

3. Insufficient Knowledge

In the survey mentioned above by Think with Google, 26% of marketers said they didn’t have the right analytics talent to meet marketing objectives, such as improving campaign effectiveness. They reported it was a struggle to get buy-in and support from executives.

Even if your organization has already established a suite of web analytics tools to provide meaningful insights into user behavior, you might be working hard to deal with the information overload. Add web analytics dashboards, customer experience tools, heatmaps, and BI analytics into the mix, and you’re sure to be overwhelmed.

One way to address this challenge is to use a reporting platform that simplifies the way you view your data (take a look at Logaholic, which does just that).

But even before you drill into a specific metric or technology, you might need to take a step back, widen your perspective, and improve your general understanding of the space of web analytics, BI, and big data.

This was one of the motivations the Web Analytics & BI Wiki built by CoolaData – makers of a big data behavioral analytics platform. The team at CoolaData took on a project to make the available content about web analytics and BI for digital marketing more accessible. The wiki is the first knowledge hub that collects all the relevant information on the subject and organizes it in a meaningful structure.

There are many additional resources that can help you get a better grasp on BI and big data concepts, for example, gurus such as Avinash Kaushik can guide you through some first steps in figuring out web analytics.

Closing Thoughts

Most organizations are convinced they lag behind their peer group when it comes to deploying and managing the performance of marketing technology. The CMO of a Fortune 100 company was embarrassed to admit that her team struggled to manage all of their technology. Believe me – we are all in the same boat.
Source: http://www.cmswire.com/digital-marketing/5-challenges-marketers-must-face-in-2017/

For many companies, the acquisition and implementation of new technology has gotten ahead of the logistics of tracking and managing data that is already in place. In this article, we discussed three common challenges businesses face when incorporating web analytics technologies and how to tackle them.

But there are many more. The fast-changing digital marketing industry introduces daily questions: How should we address big data? How do we support a multitude of platforms, especially IoT devices? Which marketing processes should we automate, and how to improve existing automation?

Don’t run from your challenges – identify them, and find strategies to solve them. With a balance between the right tools, solid professional expertise, and knowledge about the latest trends, you’re already on the right track to meeting your goals.

author admin, July 7, 2017

In web analytics, conversion rate is the percentage of users who take a desired action. These actions can include signing up for a service, downloading a file, subscribing to a newsletter, making a sale etc..

The conversion rate is one of the most useful website metrics in the web analytics toolkit because it’s a great way to measure the quality of your website traffic, your website content and your offer.

It is also a great basis for ad spending. Simply put, if you know it takes 100 visitors to make a $20 sale, you know you can’t pay more than 20 cents per visitor before you start to loose money.

However, often the conversion rate is calculated over all your traffic, in which case the results can be misleading.

If your site gets a total of 500 visitors a day and 10 visitors converted, your conversion rate is 10/500*100 = 2%. Simple right?

The problem with that is that not all traffic is created equal.

Different visitors have different motives and circumstances under which they visit your site. Some may have no interest in your offer to begin with, some may have landed on your site for whatever reason, without any intent to ever convert… they just don’t fit.

It might be nice to have them on your site, but these aren’t the people you are looking for when you set up Adwords ads or a Facebook campaign, or when you try to optimize a page’s conversion rate.

What we really want to know is: who are our customers? What does that traffic look like and how can we get more of that.

From our example above, let’s say all our paying customers come from the US, but over half of our website visitors come from other countries. In this case, it’s much more interesting to consider these separate groups when calculating our conversion rate.

In web analytics, segmentation refers to looking at parts of your data, rather than everything in total.

Knowing our customers come from certain countries is a great way to divide our visitors into more meaningful buckets, or “segments”.

In our example, even though our overall conversion rate may be just 2%, for the audience we actually care about the REAL conversion rate is double that, 4%.

That also means we can spend twice as much on advertising per visitor, provided we target the ads to the same type of visitor segment.

So, how do we find our customer segments?

This is where your web analytics tool comes in. You’ll need a tool that allows you to segment your traffic and run reports on just that group of visitors.

In Logaholic, you would create a segment based on one of your target actions, for example:

Then you can run that segment of reports like Top Countries, Top Referrers, Top keywords and so on to find out where these converted visitors are from and how they got to your web site.

Using this information, you can create new segments that define your customers groups more closely. For example from US with referrer Google or Facebook kittens group…. whatever works for your traffic.

Once you’ve done that, its time to check your conversion rates again.

You now have multiple conversion rates for multiple desired actions across multiple visitor segments. This gives you a much better picture of what kind of visitor you are after and what they are worth.

Real conversion rate

Armed with this information, you’ll be able to target your ads in systems like Google Adwords, Facebook and others more accurately. That should also help bring your cost per visitor down.

Looking at your conversion rate through the lens of a segment will also allow you to spot differences in preferences between your segments. You can use this to tailor content on your website to certain groups, to increase your conversion rate even more.

author admin, June 30, 2017

Anyone with a website knows it’s important to have access to website metrics. You need to know how many visitors you are getting, where they are coming from and what they are doing on your site.

So I am sure you already have one of the many web analytics tools in place, even if it’s only Google Analytics.

But let’s be honest, how often do you really check your site metrics?

My guess is; not too often. In fact, our data suggests most people don’t view website traffic reports more than once a month.

The problem with that is that one day, even if you have the best analytics tools, you’ll open up your reports and be like this:

When you find out your website metrics are 0

Now, I’m not suggesting you dwell on all your site metrics every day, because for most of the numbers once a month is fine.

But there are a few you should be monitoring closely. These website metrics can reveal disaster or fortune. Left unchecked they can cost you dearly when traffic patterns suddenly change.

You don’t want to find out your traffic collapsed 3 weeks ago or that Google has banned your site! Likewise, it might be nice to know you made the front page of Reddit and there is smoke coming out of your server!

So here goes, my choice of essential website metrics to check each day:

1. Visitors and pageviews

This one should speak for its self. Monitoring the daily number of unique visitors and pageviews is an easy way to check if your site is performing as expected. Any large dips or spikes will be easy to spot and allow you to investigate further.

2. Conversion rates

Visitors and pageviews tell you something about the quantity of your website traffic. Your conversion rates will tell you something about the quality of that traffic.

Of course you shouldn’t just measure conversion to your sales confirmation page. You should also measure it for things like newsletter sign ups, contact forms and key pages involved in your customer’s journey.

So make sure you have your conversion tracking set up. Its called Goal Url’s in Google Analytics, Logaholic calls it Key Performance Indicators.

If you haven’t done so already, set it up now! Because you will want to know if your website traffic is converting the way it should on a daily basis.

3. Top Pages

Make sure to include a top 10 or top 20 pages report in your daily review. You want to keep tabs on what the most popular content on your site is. If one of your pages suddenly gets a lot of traffic, you want to catch that in time so you can make any changes or improvements to that page while it’s hot.

4. Top Referrers

Like pages, you want to know where your traffic is coming from so you can respond when needed.

5. Bounce Rate

A “Bounced visitor” is a user that accessed only one page on your site and then left. In general, large changes to your daily bounce rate mean something fishy is going on and it’s time to take action.

Other website metrics

These 5 site metrics are available in most web analytics tools, but there are many more website metrics. You can find a list of web analytics definitions here.

Get your daily dose automatically

Logaholic makes it very easy to organize these reports in a dashboard so you can always access your website metrics quickly.

Also, Logaholic allows you to set up daily emails with your own choice of reports. You won’t even have to go log in to your reporting system, they automatically land in your inbox every day.

5 website metrics

andre, February 20, 2014

Believe it or not Social Media Sharing buttons on your site may decrease your page conversion.

In this article you can read how this bold statement is substantiated.

Where it boils down to is fairly obvious, 2 main reason for conversion decrease;

  1. Social proof is back firing; the sharing buttons often contain a zero or low number which suggests that the buttons are (hardly) shared and therefore not interesting.
  2. Sharing buttons distract potential customers, you must have them focused on 1 button only; Right you’ve guessed it, the buying button.

A customer of VisualWebsiteOptimizer has done the math and increased site conversion with 11% after the sharing buttons had been removed.

Through A/B testing (a premium report option in Logaholic) a conclusive test was run.

Read here in detail how they did it, with the A/B testing module of Logaholic the test can easily be duplicated, we are curious to hear if you also managed to increase conversion numbers by removing sharing buttons.

Want to know more on Logaholic A/B testing module, just click here to go to the Report Store and when you are already using A / B testing  but still could do with some technical support read here how A/B testing is setup/configured in Logaholic, ofcourse you can always contact us.

michael, September 18, 2012

Today’s blogpost is ‘for advertisers only’.

If you use Google Adwords or any another Pay Per Click solution – if you advertise in ANY way, please read this blog because it contains information that can save you a lot of money every single day.

If you are like us, money is in limited supply 😉 But, we have to spend money to make money so that is why we advertise. If we do things right, we make more than we spend.

Nevertheless, we all accept there is a great amount of ‘waste’ in all our advertising that we can’t quite put our finger on. Even online, where we should be able to track just about everything, we are sometimes being denied essential information needed to spend our money effectively.

One of the big advantages of Logaholic is that you are no longer dependent on what others tell you your statistics are. You can check their numbers against your own – and then some. In fact, you can use Logaholic to ruthlessly slash ineffective advertising. Below you will find out how.

If you’re new to our Web Analytics software, Welcome! You can download a free self-hosted edition here or you may subscribe to our 30-day Logaholic Live Trial (no installation required).

Keyword Based Advertising

Be on the lookout for keywords that you are paying for. Find the keywords that are bringing in a lot of visitors but have a low (if any) conversion rate. You can do this for different target files (Key Performance Indicators) to get a more complete picture.

Open your Logaholic and go to the Keyword Conversion (Premium) report. Choose at least a 3 month date range and an important target page. It is also recommended to use a segmentation filter here. With a segmentation filter for your specific ad system (usually Adwords) you will be able to see only the keywords that you’ve paid for. Logaholic includes a segmentation filter for Google Adwords by default, if you are using another ad system, please find here how to set up a new segmentation filter.

Make a list of the worst keywords and simply remove them from your adwords account – or other ad system. You have just saved money and you can be sure it will not impact your sales.

You can remove any paid keywords that do not convert, unless you have another reason for advertising on it. Perhaps you want your product to be found on a certain keyword for branding or positioning purposes, even though it doesn’t convert. That’s fine of course. But keywords that serve no specific purpose and don’t convert are just draining your ad budget – get rid of them.

Google’s conversion tracking that comes with Adwords will allow you to do something similar, but with two important differences:

1. Logaholic allows you to choose and compare any conversion target page, so you can evaluate conversion on different levels in your sales funnel.

2. Correct us if we’re wrong – but in our experience Logaholic seems to pick up a whole lot more conversions than Google’s javascript based solution. More accurate statistics mean much better decisions in this case.

Other Advertising
The process is the same as above, but this time look at the “Referrer Conversion” report (Premium) in Logaholic.

No matter where or how you advertise, clicks from a website to your site will leave a referrer. Simply find the referring sites that you advertise on to see the conversion rates.

Again, find sites that bring in a lot of traffic, but no conversions. You will want to stop advertising on these sites.

Regards,
The Logaholic Team

P.S. Invest Wisely.
We started this article by telling you that you could slash advertising cost and save money. What’s even more interesting is this: Invest the money you save back into the advertising that DOES work. This way you don’t
save costs, but you make much more money with the same expense!